Please be advised that there is no need to print your tickets or proof of purchase. The list of attendees will be present at the door. 

The Rhapsody Orchestra - Ancient Autumn

In its second concert of the 2021 Season, The Rhapsody Orchestra presents a beautiful autumnal programme of music inspired by the Renaissance and Baroque styles. 
Bach’s famous Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major is followed by the evocative and emotional Kol Nidrei, Max Bruch’s Jewish prayer inspired by an ancient Aramaic text. This work features soloist Ruan Baartman (double bass) in an intimate arrangement for double bass and string orchestra. 
The concert concludes with two works by 20th century composers taking inspiration from Renaissance dances and melodies: Ottorino Respighi’s Third Ancient Airs and Dances Suite and Peter Warlock’s popular Capriol Suite. Both works present older themes in a modern manner which emphasises the dance-like character of these beautiful melodies. 
The Rhapsody Orchestra is a community orchestra based in Bloemfontein aiming to provide local amateur and professional musicians with an opportunity to make music together on a regular basis and share their love of music with audiences and each other. It aims to perform music that is enjoyable and easily accessible to both the musicians and the audience. 




Come and enjoy this wonderful show with works by Bach, Bruch, Respighi & Warlock.

Soloist: Ruan Baartman (double bass)

Tickets: R40 pp for Students, R80 pp for adults.

Venue: Geloofsentrum, Universitas.

Covid-19 Protocols in place.

No mask, No entry.

Additional information


Adult, Scholar

Event Details

Date: May 30, 2021

Start time: 16:00 SAST

Venue: Geloofsentrum Universitas

Email: [email protected]